Free Webinar Series

The Next Optum-Sponsored Free Webinar:
Peer Support – Then and Now

Friday, July 28
(12:00 ET | 11:00 CT | 10:00 MT | 9:00 PT)

Beth Filson

Beth Filson joins iNAPS as Executive Consultant this year. Her experience developing the peer work force spans nearly sixteen years. In this webinar, she will provide a long-distance view from the early days of peer support work when Georgia was the first state to win Medicaid approval for peer services, to the present day proliferation and recognition of peer support on the international stage. Peer support continues to evolve and grow, and with it, a new understanding of what makes peer support unique, and its power to aid in healing.

The objectives for this webinar are for you to be able to:

  1. Identify the historical roots of peer support and the various philosophies that shape current practice.
  2. Outline some of the successes and new frontiers in peer support including peer support in primary care, forensics and Trauma-Informed Approaches.
  3. Identify common challenges confronting peer supporters today, and some of the successes in changing perspectives about recovery from severe emotional distress.

About Beth

Beth Filson is a nationally recognized writer, educator, and trainer in peer workforce development and Trauma-Informed Approaches. She now serves as Executive Consultant for iNAPS. Beth began her career in 2001 as the first project manager for the Georgia Certified Peer Specialist Project–the first-of-its-kind program to train and certify peer specialists to provide Medicaid reimbursable services within the mental health system. Her involvement in developing a peer support response to communities impacted by hurricanes Katrina and Rita led to her work with the National Center for Trauma-Informed Care & Alternatives to Seclusion and Restraint where she co-authored the manual, Engaging Women in Trauma-Informed Peer Support: A Guidebook. Beth contributes to the internationally renowned curriculum in Intentional Peer Support, and peer support alternatives to the psychiatric system. Over the past few years, she has been collaborating with a cohort of researchers, academics, and practitioners in the UK to bring Trauma-Informed Approaches and trauma-informed peer support into standard practice. Beth is an award winning poet and a self-taught artist. She makes her home in Western Massachusetts.

 


Save the Date:
August 11, 2017
(11:00 AM ET | 10:00 AM CT | 9:00 AM MT | 8:00 AM PT)
Preview of our Keynote Presenter: Pat Deegn

Pat Deegan

Pat Deegan is an independent consultant who specializes in researching and lecturing on the topic of recovery and the empowerment of people diagnosed with mental illness. Pat is an activist in the disability rights movement and has lived her own journey of recovery after being diagnosed with schizophrenia as a teenager. She is a disruptive innovator and she is one of our featured keynotes at the 11th Annual Peer Support Conference in Phoenix, October 16-18. To learn more about Pat, visit her site: https://www.patdeegan.com/pat-deegan

 


In the meantime, click here to view our Library of Recorded Webinars


Optum_iNAPS-sm

Free Webinars

This series of free webinars is made possible through the generous technology and technical support of Optum. This health management organization has been a long-standing supporter of the peer and recovery support movement.

Disclaimer:
Opinions expressed in this webinar series are those of the presenters and do not necessarily reflect those of iNAPS or Optum.

NEWoptumlogojpeg200px

Thank you Optum for your ongoing support of peer supporters!

~createus-logo
With recording by David Barker of Createus Media!

Certificates are a Benefit of Membership


To apply for a certificate of attendance for our free webinars, join iNAPS (https://inaops.org/join-us/).

Then send an email to membership@naops.org requesting the quiz for the webinar you viewed. Once your membership is confirmed, you will have the opportunity to take a brief quiz and then receive a certificate.

Movie camera icon

Recorded Webinars
Visit this pagehttps://inaops.org/free-webinars-past/

4 thoughts on “Free Webinar Series

  1. where cani access the actual compensation survey? Im Ken, a CPS in PA,and i will be participating int he upcoming webinar next Friday. But, I can’t find the actual survey. canyou email me a link to it. email address is kenlopez568@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s